Latest Headlines

Dolphins greats Mark Clayton, Bob Kuechenberg semifinalists for Professional Soccer Corridor of Fame senior/coach/contributor place

Mark Clayton, who has the 2nd-most getting yards in Dolphins heritage, and Bob Kuechenberg, a sturdy guard during Miami’s championship seasons, were amid 54 seniors, coaches and contributors named as semifinalists for the Pro Soccer Corridor of Fame’s Course of 2023 on Thursday.

Clayton, who was an eighth-spherical choose in the 1983 draft that brought the Dolphins Dan Marino, had five seasons of at the very least 1,000 yards acquiring and four in which he experienced at the very least 10 touchdowns. His 18 receiving scores in 1984 was an NFL document and stood till 1987 when Jerry Rice scored 22 moments by the air in only 12 games throughout that strike-shortened period. Clayton built five Pro Bowls.

Kuechenberg, a six-time Pro Bowl range who died at 71 in 2019, missed only five video games of the 201 the Dolphins played in the typical year for the duration of his profession, and he begun the 1974 Super Bowl in opposition to the Minnesota Vikings carrying a cast on an arm he fractured in December of that typical time. A month afterwards, Kuechenberg and organization opened large holes for Larry Csonka in Houston and Miami rolled 24-7 to full a 32-2 two-calendar year run (a .941 acquire percentage) with two NFL titles, unmatched in league background for two seasons.

Kuechenberg was an eight-time Hall finalist in common voting, with his ultimate change receiving turned absent on the last reduce becoming in 2009. No other player who has been a finalist as lots of as eight periods has been denied enshrinement in Canton, Ohio.

READ MORE:  Magic’s Ignas Brazdeikis shines the moment again in season’s final stretch

Among the the most effective-credentialed of the 25 previous gamers are four-time Professional Bowl Cincinnati Bengals quarterback Ken Anderson do-it-all working back Roger Craig, who scored a few touchdowns versus the Dolphins in the San Francisco 49ers’ 38-16 acquire in the 1985 Tremendous Bowl return expert Billy “White Shoes” Johnson and Raiders 5-time Pro Bowl CB Lester Hayes.

The remaining record of gamers are linebackers Randy Gradishar, Maxie Baughan, Clay Matthews Jr., Tommy Nobis and Chuck Howley broad receivers Otis Taylor, Sterling Sharpe and Stanley Morgan end LaVern Dilweg offensive lineman Chris Hinton two-way participant Cecil Isbell offensive tackles Joe Jacoby, George Kunz and Mike Kenn defensive linemen Joe Klecko and Jim Marshall and cornerbacks Eddie Meador, Ken Riley and Everson Walls.

Mike Shanahan, who coached the Denver Broncos to consecutive Tremendous Bowl titles in the late 1990s, and Mike Holmgren, who took the Eco-friendly Bay Packers to their very first NFL title in 29 a long time in 1997, ended up named as coach/contributor semifinalists, joined by 27 other people, which include New England Patriots operator Robert Kraft and longtime Raiders CEO Amy Trask.

The remaining record of coaches/contributors: previous Oilers/Titans operator K.S. “Bud” Adams Jr. television government and producer Roone Arledge longtime Oilers/Titans scout C.O. Brocato mentor Don Coryell athletic coach Otho Davis previous Canton Bulldogs operator Ralph Hay entrance-office environment executives John McVay, Carl Peterson and Frank “Bucko” Kilroy scout Eddie Kotal common supervisor Abundant McKay former Browns/Ravens owner Art Modell, Cowboys founder Clint Murchison Jr. coach Buddy Parker coach Dan Reeves journalist Lee Remmel Steelers vice president Artwork Rooney Jr. mentor Marty Schottenheimer officers Jim Tunney and Jerry Seeman mentor Clark Shaughnessy Elias Sports activities Bureau proprietor Seymour Siwoff scouts Jack Vainisi and Lloyd Wells and John Wooten.

READ MORE:  ‘American Track Contest’: Who were being the greatest acts on episode 1?

The respective range committees will vote to deliver 12 seniors and 12 coach/contributors to the finalists stage. All those benefits will be announced July 27.

Each individual semifinalist played his final match in specialist football no afterwards than the 1996 time.

The Seniors Committee will fulfill Aug. 16 to select up to 3 seniors for final thing to consider as users of the Course of 2023. Expansion of the seniors pool for election to the Corridor was authorized previously this year for the Lessons of 2023, 2024 and 2025.

Mentor/Contributor Committee users will meet Aug. 23 to select one particular coach or contributor for last thought for the Class of 2023.


Related Articles

Back to top button